I love fall a Pumpkin Spice Latte

It’s the most cliche thing I could say, I know, but I do. Where I live there are either frostbite warnings or heat advisories, both urging us to stay in our homes. So when the hot summer starts cooling down, and all of the leaves on my college campus start changing colors, and there is just a slight nip in the air to the point where I can wear a sweater and still be warm. It’s our last glimpse of the beauty of nature before we turn into an arctic tundra of students who are so bundled we look that little kid from A Christmas Story. I think I am a little more excited about fall this year, because I missed Illinois fall last year while I was in Austria. Don’t get me wrong Austria was beautiful, but obviously they don’t celebrate Thanksgiving there, so they sort of go from Halloween to Christmas. As much as I loved wandering 1426492_10151947804203744_823095980_nthrough Christmas market after Christmas market, eating various baked goods smothered with Nutella and drinking as much hot wine and schnapps as I could get my hands on, there was one drink I really missed. My pumpkin spice latte. Americans are obsessed with pumpkin, every coffee shop from Starbucks all the way down to the little coffee shop that I write these blogs in, sell a version of a PSL. I know people think its really suburban white girl of me to love them, but I think people forget what PSLs stand for. It’s a symbol that you can once again comfortably and casually drink coffee. In the summer I only drink coffee in the morning when I need a pick-me-up before work, but in the colder months, I can drink coffee whenever I feel like it simply because I enjoy the taste, and I don’t have to worry about sweating while I drink. Nothing makes me happier than wearing my big fuzzy sweater and cozying up with a book and a flavored coffee. So call me what you will, but while you’re talking about how cliche everything about fall is, this basic bitch will be sipping on her pumpkin spice latte wrapped up in an  infinity scarf and some plaid. The leaves change colors regardless of how many times you roll your eyes, and you can bet your cynical ass that I will be right there Instagraming how beautiful they look. I mean hey, life’s more fun when you participate.

(photo credit: Jessie Garber)

Leave a Reply

